NEXT EVENT  Saturday, July 27
$1,500 to win Modifieds

Stahl snags USRA Tuner National Championship

December 15, 2023

Brad Stahl filled in the missing piece to his USRA Tuner racing résumé with his first Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series title in 2023.

The newly-crowned USRA Tuner National Champion garnered 11 wins in his 29 starts, along with 23 top-five and 25 top-ten finishes.

Racing against big fields nearly every weekend, the 36-year-old from Castalia, Iowa, outdistanced Justin Converse of Texarkana, Ark., who settled for second-place for a second straight season.

Braiden Schaufenbuel of New Hampton, Iowa, goes up against Stahl most race nights and finished third in the final points.

Stahl, who won the Summit USRA Nationals in 2020 and again in 2022, competed at the Cresco Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway and Winneshiek Raceway in 2023.

USRA Tuner 2023 National Championship
Final top 20 points standings showing finishing position, car number, driver, hometown and points earned.
1. 35 Brad Stahl, Castalia, Iowa, 4416
2. C49 Justin Converse, Texarkana, Ark., 4290
3. 28 Braiden Schaufenbuel, New Hampton, Iowa, 4217
4. 15 Tyler Crimmins, Fort Dodge, Iowa, 4132
5. 4T Trenton Wilson, Chanute, Kan., 4094
6. 93S Stephanie Sharp, Nashville, Ark., 4015
7. 11X Robert Sumrell, Ashdown, Ark., 3983
8. 18H Josh Hills, Elkader, Iowa, 3896
9. 56 Katie Stahl, Castalia, Iowa, 3888
10. 38 Dalton Fels, Calmar, Iowa, 3843
11. 1X Clay Gardner, Stamps, Ark., 3761
12. 48 Ty Monserud, Waukon, Iowa, 3750
13. 13 Bob Horton, Amity, Ark., 3611
14. 14 Tyler Ellis, Murfreesboro, Ark., 3599
15. 29B Brandon Harrod, Beckville, Texas, 3569
16. 72k Kayla Kizer, Fouke, Ark., 3563
17. 15 Dillon Riehle, Waukon, Iowa, 3488
18. 5K Perry Kessel, Cresco, Iowa, 3482
19. 15 Travis Bockover, Chanute, Kan., 3330
20. 6 Dillon Box, Madill, Okla., 3288

His wife, Katie Stahl also competes in the USRA Tuner division and nabbed the ninth spot in this year’s national points.

Past USRA Tuner National Champions
2023 - Brad Stahl, Castalia, Iowa
2022 - Oliver Monson, Thornton, Iowa
2021 - David Thompson, Mesquite Texas
2020 - Brian Schoenbaum Jr., San Antonio, Texas
2019 - Seth Scholl, Holmen, Wis.
2018 - Ryan Bryant, Mason City, Iowa
2017 - Kyle Balik, Fort Atkinson, Iowa

In addition to a $1,000 national points fund check, Brad Stahl will also earn awards from Summit Racing Equipment, Allstar Performance, Gunshepherd.com, Performance Bodies & Parts and Wilwood Racing and others.

The United States Racing Association (USRA) and United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) will host a joint awards banquet on Saturday, Jan. 27, inside the 9,792-square-foot Nevada Ballroom at the Harrah's Kansas City Hotel & Casino to celebrate the 2023 racing season for both organizations.

Tickets include a luxurious dinner featuring a plentiful selection of fine food and a succulent dessert bar. A cash bar will also be available. The cost is $65 per person and can be purchased by calling (515) 832-6000 weekdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Tickets sales are available through Friday, Dec. 22, at 12 noon, and then resume on Wednesday, Jan. 3, after the holiday break. The deadline to purchase tickets to the awards banquet is Friday, Jan. 12, at 4 p.m.

A limited number or hotel rooms have been reserved for banquet attendees. Call Harrah's at 800-427-7247 or book online and mention the Group Code “S01US24” to receive the special Group Rate.

Harrah's Kansas City Hotel & Casino offers one of the most exciting hotels and casinos in the heart of America, blending small-town charm with big-city amenities with over 390+ luxurious rooms, a collection of gourmet dining experiences and the area's hottest gaming and entertainment. Visit Harrahs.com for more information.

Alternatively, you can book rooms at Ameristar Kansas City, which is located just minutes from Harrah's. Use Group Code “USRA23” and call (816) 414-7000.

For more than two decades, the United States Racing Association has attracted more and more racetracks and dirt track racers each year through fair, logical and cost-effective rules accompanied by an organization that puts the racers, racetracks and their fans first. During the 2023 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series, more than 60 of America's finest dirt ovals hosted more than 1,000 nights of racing.

To learn more about the USRA, check out USRAracing.com. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. To get USRA news and exclusive promotions delivered to your inbox, click here.

USRA competitors can register for the 2024 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series online at USRAracing.com/Register or call (515) 832-6000 to register by phone. You can also download the application at USRAracing.com/Downloads and then submit your completed form by email at office@usraracing.com or fax at (515) 832-7958.

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Beyea Headers, Chevrolet Performance, Christie Door Company, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, KS Engineering, KSE Racing Products, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Nitroquest Media, PEM Racing Gears & Drivetrain, RacinDirt, Summit Racing Equipment, Sunoco Race Fuels.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Allen Autosports Race Cars, ARMI Contractors, Boubin Tire & Automotive, Brodix Cylinder Heads, DAY Motorsports, Duvall Electric, Gunshepherd.com, Innovative AutoGlass & Window Tint, PBM Performance Products, Star 1 Roofing & Construction, Stealth Thru Tubing, Texas Locomotive Solutions, TNT Auto Parts, YouDirt.com.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Bryke Racing, BSB Manufacturing, Champ Pans, Edelbrock, Hooker Harness, Hyperco, Integra Racing Shocks & Springs, JE Pistons, K1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers, Keyser Manufacturing, Landrum Performance Springs, MD3, Medieval Chassis, MSD, Performance Bodies & Parts, QA1, Quarter Master, QuickCar Racing Products, RacerWebsite.com, Real Racing Wheels, Swift Springs, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Wilwood Disc Brakes.

USRA RACETRACKS: 67 Speedway of Texarkana, 81 Speedway, Alien Motor Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Bolivar Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Diamond Park Speedway, Eagle Valley Speedway, Electric City Speedway, Elk City Motorsports Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gondik Law Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Harrah's Kansas City Hotel & Casino, Humboldt Speedway, Hunt County Raceway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, Lawton Speedway, Legacy Speedway, Longdale Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Raceway, Northwest Missouri State Fairgrounds, Ogilvie Raceway, Outlaw Motor Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Red Cedar Speedway, Red Dirt Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park, Route 66 Motor Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sabine Speedway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, Sandia Speedway, Sports Park Raceway, Springfield Raceway, Super Bee Speedway, Thunder Valley Speedway, Tomahawk Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Tulsa Speedway, US 36 Raceway, Vado Speedway Park, West Texas Raceway, Winneshiek Raceway.