NEXT EVENT  Saturday, April 6
Open Practice

Lyndon Moss Memorial 305 Sprint Car Race to Pay $10,000 to Win!

April 2, 2021  |  by Jeff Peck, Route 66 Motor Speedway

Lorne Wofford of Alamogordo, N.M., was the 2020 winner of the Lyndon Moss Memorial.

Lorne Wofford of Alamogordo, N.M., was the 2020 winner of the Lyndon Moss Memorial.

The bar has been raised for the Second Annual Lyndon Moss Memorial at the 3/8-mile Route 66 Motor Speedway in Amarillo, Texas.

The event is set for Saturday, August 21 with a September 11 rain date.

The one-night spectacular will pay $10,000 to win and a minimum of $400 to start.

The Format: This event will use the All Star Circuit of Champions format. All cars will run 2 laps of single car time trials (1 or 2 cars at a time). Heat races will invert 4. Heat winner and fastest qualifier to transfer will advance to the 6-lap Dash to determine the first few rows. The rest of the heat transfers will make up the majority of the “A” Feature. The balance of the field will go to a determined number of “B” Mains based upon car count to fill out the field. Fastest two qualifiers not transferring through the heats will lineup in row 1 in the “B” Main(s).

Entry Fee: $50 NLT August 8. Any Entry Forms received after August 8 is $150.
Entry Forms will be available on April 2.

The Guidelines: See the Rules/Procedures/Entry Form document for complete rules on this website.

305 sealed spec engine and you must present your engine hard card.

Right Rear tire must be the Hoosier plated - 38214 104.0/16.0-15. Left Rear tire must durometer a minimum of 35. Hoosier on all four corners. No bleeders. RR must have a bead lock.

Cockpit adjustable top wing will be permitted. Titanium brakes will be permitted.

Weight rule is a minimum of 1500 lbs. with driver with fire suppression system, 1550 lbs. without a fire suppression system.

Fuel samples will be taken/tested.

Top wing (maximum 5×5) must be totally flat to run a wicker bill up to two inches. No wicker bills permitted on dished wings. Sideboards on the top wing must be 90 degrees square to center foil. The leading edge of the nose wing can be no further forward than 20 inches of the leading edge of the front axle. If manual wing is used, you’re allowed to adjust during an open red flag.

Pit Gates Open at 2pm. All cars must go through Tech Inspection 2:00 - 5:30pm

Lyndon Moss Memorial Awards and Activities:

Kids Kool Helmet Award: Presented by Saldana Racing 1st: $50 – 2nd $30 – 3rd: $20

(1 helmet per driver. Lat year’s Top 3 not allowed) Kids 16 and under vote.

Best Appearing Car Award

KSE Fast Time Award

AFCO Dash Award

Hard Luck Award

Hard Charger Award

Silent Auction to benefit the Amarillo Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum.

Past Champions: 2020: Lorne Wofford (Alamogordo, NM)

Tickets: Tickets are $15.

Kids 6-11 $5

5 and under free.

Pit Passes are $35.

In total, the 2021 season at the fast high-banked 3/8-mile clay oval Route 66 Motor Speedway is slated for nineteen nights of action.

Schedule can be located at route66motorspeedway.net/schedule.

Route 66 Motor Speedway is located on the southeast side of Amarillo, Texas at 4101 SE Loop 335. Take I-40 to Exit 75 (Lakeside Drive), then 1.5 miles south.

For more information, contact 2 Brothers Promotions (Zach and Jeremy Gossett) at:

Zach - (806) 206-7059
Jeremy - (806) 367-4298